Connecticut

Code Section
14-227a

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC at time of offense

Rehabilitation Required?
Court may order participation in alcohol education and treatment program in addition to any fine or sentence

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 1 yr.; 2nd: 3yrs. or until 21st birthday, whichever longer; 3rd: permanently

Other Penalties
1st: $500-1000 and jail up to 6 mos. (minimum 48 consecutive hrs.) or probation including 100 hrs. community service; 2nd within 10 yrs.: $1000-4000 and jail up to 2 yrs. (minimum 120 days consecutive) and probation including 100 hrs. community service; 3rd within 10 yrs.: $2000-8000 and jail up to 3 yrs. (minimum 1 of which is consecutive) and probation, including 100 hrs. community service


Inside Connecticut