Idaho

Code Section
18-8004, et seq

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC; under age 21, .02-.08% BAC; .20% BAC is considered excessive; commercial truck driver: .04% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
Alcoholic evaluation (own expense) at approved facility; if necessary, an appropriate alcoholic treatment must be completed in addition to the rest of the sentence

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 30 days absolute, 60-150 days restricted privileges; 2nd within 5 yrs.: 1 yr. absolute suspension after release from confinement; 3rd within 5 yrs.: absolute suspension 1-5 yrs. and after 1 yr., only drive a vehicle with an ignition interlock system

Other Penalties
1st: up to $1000 and/or up to 6 mos.; 2nd within 5 yrs.: up to $2000 and jail 10 days (1st 48 hrs. consecutive) to 1 yr.; 3rd within 5 yrs.: mandatory 30 days up to 5 yrs. and may be fined up to $5000 and felony conviction. Note: other states’ prior convictions count. Also note: separate penalties are listed for minors (under 21 yrs. of age) with BAC less than .08%, and those convicted with excessive BAC (over .20%)


Inside Idaho