Illinois

Code Section
625 ILCS 5/11-501, et seq

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC; less than .05% at test: presumed not to be under the influence of alcohol; .05% .08% at test: no presumption of guilt but take it with other evidence; .08% at test: guilty; under age 21: 0.00% BAC
Rehabilitation Required?
Professional evaluation to determine if there is abuse problem and extent; defendant pays cost; program must be approved/licensed by Dept. of Alcohol and Substance Abuse

Driver’s License Suspension?
Driving privileges revoked for indefinite period.

Other Penalties
1st: Class A misdemeanor (if transporting someone under 16 yrs. of age: min. $500 and 5 days of community service in a program benefitting children); 2nd within 5 yrs.: mandatory min. 48 hrs. jail or min. 100 hrs. community service (if transporting someone under 16 yrs. of age: min. $500 and 10 days of community service in a program benefitting children); 3rd or subsequent: Class 3 felony, 1-3 yrs. prison (mandatory min. 48 hrs. and 30 hrs. community service if given probation)


Inside Illinois