Louisiana

Code Section
14:98; 32:414

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
Court approved substance abuse program and court approved driver improvement program is a min. condition for all probation, parole, or suspension of sentence

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 90 days (can be restricted if necessary)-$100 reinstatement fee; 2nd: 1 yr.-$200 reinstatement fee; 3rd or subsequent: 2 yrs.-$300 reinstatement fee

Other Penalties
1st: $300-1000 and 10 days to 6 mos. jail (possible suspension by attending program with minimal jail time or community service); 2nd: $750-1000 and 30 days to 6 mos. jail (possible suspension by attending program with minimal jail time or community service); 3rd: $2000 and 1-5 yrs. jail; 4th: hard labor 10-30 yrs. and $5000. Note that prior convictions include other states


Inside Louisiana