Maine

Code Section
Tit. 29A §2411

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
Yes, for 2nd and subsequent offense, defendant may be required to participate in a Weekend Intervention Program (or residential treatment program) administered by the Office of Substance Abuse

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st (with no previous drunk driving convictions): 90 days; 2nd within 10 yrs.: 18 mos.; 3rd within 10 yrs.: 4 yrs; 4th and subsequent: 6 yrs.

Other Penalties
All convictions are Class D crimes. 1st (with no previous drunk driving convictions): no less than $400 (if BAC was greater than .15%, was driving in excess of 30 mph over the speed limit, eluded officer, or had a passenger under 21 yrs. of age: add 48 hrs. of jail, if failed to submit the chemical test, 96 hrs.); 2nd within 10 yrs.: no less than $600 and 7 days jail; 3rd within 10 years.: no less than $1000 and 30 days. 4th and subsequent: class C crime, $2000 and 6 mos. jail. Note that penalties are more severe if they caused bodily injury


Inside Maine