Minnesota

Code Section
169A.20 et seq.

BAC Legal Limit
.10% BAC within 2 hrs. of time of driving; commercial motor vehicle driver: .04% BAC within 2 hrs. of driving; under age 21: any amount

Rehabilitation Required?
Must submit to level of care recommended in mandatory chemical use assessment, at driver’s expense.

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 30 days; 2nd within 10 yrs.: 180 days; 3rd within 10 yrs.: 1 yr.; 4th & subsequent: 2 yrs.

Other Penalties
1st: misdemeanor; 2nd within 10 yrs.: gross misdemeanor, min. 30 days jail or 8 hrs. community service for each jail day served less than 30; 3rd within 10 yrs.: gross misdemeanor, min. 90 days jail or intensive supervision; 4th: 180 days jail or intensive supervision or up to 150 days home detention; 5th or subsequent: 1 yr. jail or intensive supervision


Inside Minnesota