Montana

Code Section
61-5-205, 208; 61-8-406, 722, 61-8-410

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC; under age 21:.02% BAC or more; commercial motor vehicle driver: .04% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
Defendant shall complete alcohol information course at alcohol treatment program approved by Dept. of Corrections & Human Services which may include alcohol or drug treatment or both if considered necessary by counselor conducting program

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 6 mos.; subsequent: 1 yr. (completion of alcohol information course or treatment must be completed before revocation ends)

Other Penalties
1st: $300–1000 and up to 10 days in jail; 2nd: $600–1000 and 5–30 days jail; 3rd: $1000–5000 and 10 days–6 months jail (except for initial 5–10 days in jail, rest of jail time can be home arrest)


Inside Montana