New Hampshire

Code Section
263:65-a; 265.82 et seq.

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC; under age 21:.02% or more

Rehabilitation Required?
Yes, Impaired Driver Intervention Program; must successfully complete to get license back; must be approved by the commissioner of the Department of Health and Human Services and the commissioner of Safety

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 9 months to 2 yrs.; 2nd within 7 yrs.: 3 yrs.; 3rd within 7 yrs.: indefinite, min. 5 yrs.; 4th or subsequent: indefinite, min. 7 yrs.

Other Penalties
1st: $350; 2nd within 7 yrs.: $500 and 10 days (3 in city jail and 7 in DWI offender intervention detention center); 3rd within 7 yrs.: $500 and 30 days jail and 28 day treatment program. (Stiffer penalties for transporting person under 16 yrs. old, speeding 30 mph over limit, or accident resulting in serious bodily injury)


Inside New Hampshire