Ohio

Code Section
Tit. 37 3793.10; Tit. 45 4511.19; 4511.99; 4510.02; 4510.021

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC (.02% BAC if under 21 yrs. old)

Rehabilitation Required?
1st: Driver’s Intervention Program (as 1 yr. alternative to jail sentence); rehab may be required in sentences; 4th or more: required attendance at alcohol and drug addiction program

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 6 mos. to 3 yrs.; 2nd within 6 yrs.: 1-5 yrs.; 3rd within 6 yrs.: 2-10 yrs.; 4th within 6 yrs.: min. 3 yrs.-permanent.

Other Penalties
1st: 1st degree misdemeanor, $250-1000 and 3 days or longer jail; 2nd within 6 yrs.: 1st degree misdemeanor, $350-1500, 10 days or longer jail (part of term may be on house arrest or allow work release); 3rd within 6 yrs.: $550-2500 and 30 days to 1 yr. jail (part of term may be on house arrest or allow work release); 4th or subsequent: 60 days-1yr. jail, $800-10,000 fine


Inside Ohio