Rhode Island

Code Section
31-27-2

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
Attendance required at special course on DWI or under the influence of controlled substance and/or alcoholic or drug treatment for individual

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 1-6 mos.; 2nd: 1-2 yrs.; 3rd within 5 yrs.: 2-3 yrs.

Other Penalties
1st: $100-300 and 10-60 hrs. community service and/or up to 1 yr. jail; 2nd within 5 yrs.: $400 and 10 days to 1 yr. jail; 3rd or subsequent within 5 yrs.: $400, 1–3 yrs. jail, may have car seized and sold by State of Rhode Island and proceeds going to general fund. Note: anyone convicted under this section pays highway assessment fine of $500. Different penalties for those under 18 yrs. of age.


Inside Rhode Island