South Dakota

Code Section
32-23-1, et seq.; 22-6-1; 22-6-2

BAC Legal Limit
.08% BAC or “under the influence”; under age 21:.02% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
1st: required if .17% BAC; court-ordered evaluation to determine if addicted to alcohol

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: min. 30 days to 1 yr.; 2nd: min. 1 yr.; 3rd: min. 1 yr.; 4th: min. 2 yrs.

Other Penalties
1st: Class 1 misdemeanor, $1000 and/or 1 yr. jail; 2nd within 5 yrs.: $1000 and/or 1 yr. jail; 3rd within 5 yrs.: Class 6 felony, $2000 and/or 2 yrs. jail; 4th: Class 5 felony, 5 yrs. jail and may impose fine of $5000


Inside South Dakota