Virginia

Code Section
18.2-266, et seq.

.08% BAC; under age 21:.02% BAC

Rehabilitation Required?
Alcohol Safety Action Program certified by commission on the VA Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASP) for 1st or 2nd offense at court’s discretion

Driver’s License Suspension?
1st: 1 yr.; 2nd within 10 yrs.: 3 yrs.; 3rd within 10 yrs.: 3 yrs.

Other Penalties
1st: Class 1 misdemeanor: 2nd within 5-10 yrs.: $200-2500 and 1 mo. to 1 yr. jail; 3rd or subsequent: minimum $1000, and minimum 1 yr. jail for 4th or subsequent, Class 6 felony. Note: harsher penalties for minors with BAC .02-.10% or those transporting minor under 17 yrs. old.


Inside Virginia